Home JK Updates Dr Darakhshan Andrabi, Shameem Dev Azad & Dr. R.L. Shant honoured by prestigious Harmony India Award at Delhi

Dr Darakhshan Andrabi, Shameem Dev Azad & Dr. R.L. Shant honoured by prestigious Harmony India Award at Delhi

by admin
0 comment 3 views

NEW DELHI : 8th Edition of the Harmony India Awards function was organized by Harmony Cultural Foundation in which 18 awardees were felicitated for their outstanding contribution in their respective fields including Visual Art, Literature, Music, Acting, Sports, Journalism, Social Work, Community Services.

Harmony India Special Award for this year was conferred upon eminent politician & writer Dr. Darakhshan Andrabi for her social and intellectual contribution. Dr. Andrabi while receiving the award said that she felt like standing at her maternal home and mentioned that this award will always remain special to her as she receives it from her own people who are committed with missionary zeal for harmony and brotherhood.

Life time achievement award for this year was conferred upon Prof. Rattan Lal Shant for his outstanding contribution in the field of Kashmiri Literature and Language, National Icon Award was conferred upon Sh. M.K. Raina for his outstanding contribution in the field of Acting & Direction.

NGO Shaheed Bhagat Singh Sewa Dal represented by Sh. Jitender Singh Shunty was conferred Special Award in the field of social work. Shrestha Samman was conferred upon Sh. Veerinder Patwari for his immense contribution in the field of Urdu literature, Rajendar Tiku for his contribution in the field of Visual Arts, Smt. Brij Kishori Zutshi for her contribution in the field of Acting.

State Icon award was conferred upon Ms. Pooja Shali towards her contribution in the field of Journalism, Singer Shri Jatinder Singh in the field of Performing Arts, Shri Kuldeep Handoo for Sports, Smt. Nirmala Dhar for Acting.

Community Icon Award was conferred upon Mr. Sumeet Bhat of Purkoo camp,
Helpline Humanity NGO represented by Shri. Manoj Bhat, Hakhoo Street Animals Foundation represent by Ms. Namrata Hakhoo for community services.

Entrepreneurs Surender and Nalini Sadhu for promoting culture through their Mataamal Venture. Yuva Puraskar honour for being an inspiration to youth was conferred upon young and dynamic personalities Ms. Pallavi Sareen as Journalist and Ms. Sunanda Khajuria in the field of Visual Arts.

The ceremony was held on Friday, October 28th at Shri Ram Centre, Mandi House, New Delhi and began with the lighting of lamp by Guest of Honours Dr. Sudhir K Sopory (Indian educationist, Eminent Scientist and former Vice chancellor of JNU), Mr. Shah Faesal (Deputy Secretary Ministry of Culture), Sh.Veer Munshi (Eminent Visual Artist), Sh. Ravinder Kaul (Journalist & Art Critic) followed by Saraswati Vandana.

Like every year, the foundation aims at providing platform to young talented generation of the state and this year 16 years old, Krisha Bhat debuted with Parvin Shakir’s Urdu ghazal composed by young composer Saurabh Zadoo who’s also director of Harmony India. Then began the second part of the program with presentations by Indian Harmonies Choir of J&k starting with J&k’s legendary writer Nadims two poems ‘Me Cham Aash Paghaech’ which revolve around the story of three different women with different hopes and their only fear. Second was Soun Wattan which reflects Nadims mastery over expressions & the subtle way of expressing his love and emotions for his homeland. Shanti mantra, a yajurvedic hymn was performed based on shlokas as a payer for global peace and prosperity along with musicians Ritesh Prasanna on flute & Ujit Uday Kumar on Tabla, followed by kashmiri rhymes and tarana based on raag bhimplasi set to ek taal composed and Conducted by Saurabh Zadoo. Audiences highly appreciated the presentations and efforts for the preservation of Literature & Language.

Chief Guest of the evening Nirupama Kotru (IRS & Honorable Jury of Harmony India Awards ) expressed how difficult it was to make selection of the awardees as a jury and spoke about the importance of acknowledging the contributions made by the awardees. Special Guest of the Evening included Prof. Aparna Sopori, Bollywood Actor Kuldeep Sareen, Pt. Viajy Shankar Mishra (Musicologist), Dr. Ashwani Pandita (MD, Swami Nand Lal Hospital), Santoor Maestro Sh.Abhay Sopori, Dr. Rajender Dhar (Judge, Consumer Court), Bhavna Pandita (Asha Foundation), Sh. Mushtaq Ali Ahmed (Actor & Director) and Honorable Jury of Harmony India Awards Sh. Veer Munshi and Sh. Ravinder Kaul.

A special film screening on the life of Santoor Maestro & Music Composer Padmashri Pt.Bhajan Sopori was showcased followed by the first Pt.Bhajan Sopori Smriti Samman which was this year conferred upon Mrs. Shameem Dev Azad. Prof. Aparna Sopori along with the guest of honors presented the award to Sh. Abhay Sopori on behalf of Mrs. Azad.

These Honours are given in recognition of the outstanding contribution by the personalities in their respective fields.The foundation believes in encouraging and recognising the creative beings who with their visionary actions contribute to the society said Sh.Romesh Zadoo, President of Harmony Cultural Foundation.

You may also like

Leave a Comment

JK Live Updates All Right Reserved. Designed and Developed NaSiR AsHraF